Picture
Last night we had a great discussion about the challenges some of you had when you first came to the U.S.A.  You also have a writing assignment where you can write about some of these experiences.  Feel free to share your thoughts here.  What were some of your first experiences in the U.S.A  like?  Have your feelings for the U.S.A or your home country changed?  How?  When did you realize that you had adapted to life here?  What  are some things that helped you learn English or adjust to American life?

Rand Adham Akil
3/8/2013 12:47:11 am

My sister helps me in English, I'm a little afraid while talking to people because I'm not very good in conversation..

Reply
Julie
3/9/2013 01:43:04 am

Rand,
Your speaking skills are improving so quickly! Keep up the good work!

Reply
belee
3/8/2013 05:54:09 am

Hi class,

Yesterday we were talking about Saint Patrick’s Day. For your information, Saint Patrick’s Day is March 17, 2013. And this coming Sunday March 10 2013 don’t forget to see all of your clocks are hour ahead!

Reply
Julie
3/9/2013 01:46:12 am

Belee,
Thanks for the heads up on the time change! My husband just read the blog and was happy that you reminded him! The saying about the time change goes like this,"Spring forward. Fall behind." So, as spring approaches, we move the clocks forward. BTW (by the way) are you going to the parade with your children? If you are, please post photos!

Reply
Fama
3/8/2013 09:07:10 am

Hi
My husband and my sister in law help me sometimes, i have problem when i speak because i'am always thinking in french, my husband told me it is bad to do this, he told me every time i have to think in English what i want to say. Now i try to do this but it's not easy for me.

Reply
Julie
3/10/2013 10:59:24 am

Fama,
It's true! Think of all the time you are wasting thinking in French and translating into English! Too much brain power! Go ahead and try it out English. Sure, you may make a mistake or two, but that's OK. We all learn from out mistakes. You are doing great!

Reply



Leave a Reply.